Each year the Bloch School’s Council for Entrepreneurship and Innovation presents an Entrepreneurial Award to a Bloch School student with significant entrepreneurial achievement.

2012 Winner is:

Evan Kirsch, Founder, Folioboy

From left: Council for Entrepreneurship and Innovation Chair Mary Bloch, Dr. Teng-Kee Tan, Folioboy Founder Evan Kirsch, Bloch School benefactor Henry W. Bloch, and Regnier Institute Director Michael Song.


Students may download a scholarship application, complete the application, then submit it along with essay, faculty recommendation letter, and résumé to the Student Services Office, Room 115. Finalists will be announced the beginning of October and the winner will receive the award at the annual Entrepreneur of the Year Dinner.


Award of the scholarship will be based on:

1. Entrepreneurship: Along with the Bloch School application, applicants/nominees are asked to submit a 500-word essay describing their entrepreneurial activities. Finalists and the winner will be selected based on the following criteria:


owned a business or are in the process of starting a business,


demonstrated entrepreneurial skills in overcoming an obstacle(s) to achieve a goal and/or,


have been active in the Regnier Institute for Entrepreneurship and Innovation’s entrepreneurship activities.

The five key elements of creativity, originality, risk taking, action/results orientation, and persistence will be evaluated.

2. Academic Performance: To qualify for the scholarship, applicants/nominees must have a minimum 3.0 grade point average and provide a letter of recommendation who can attest to the quality of the applicant’s work.

The Bloch School at UMKC, through its Council for Entrepreneurship and Innovation, has celebrated international and local entrepreneurship since 1985 through its annual Entrepreneur of the Year Awards Dinner. This event celebrates the entrepreneurial spirit by honoring continued innovative and creative accomplishments.

Untitled Document